Skip to content

Organic Cleaning

October 8, 2008

Lately I’ve been feeling that I’m a very disorganized person… and pretty messy. If I wasn’t living with Chase I probably wouldn’t even get around to doing dishes everyday, and sometimes I don’t! But I’ve decided that I’m going to change this about myself. I love being in a clean house, I love being able to find something when I need or want it and what’s silly is I actually enjoy cleaning. So why don’t I? …who knows.

Anyway, I’ve been enjoying reading books on organic housekeeping and doing research on the internet on how to do so. I found this great book called Natural Cleaning for your home. It’s basically a recipe book for cleaning products. Today is my first day making/using my own products. So far I’ve made some window cleaner, countertop spray and an all purpose cleaner. Just using things that I already have in my kitchen! The only thing I really had to buy that I wouldn’t have already was a bar of castille or glycerin soap. The window cleaner works great, my windows are streak free and clean and there is no super strong “I just cleaned this” smell, which I like. The other cleaners are pretty nice, too!

There are other recipes for laundry detergent, dishwasher soap and floor cleaners as well. I’m excited to try them out and see how they work! I have a pretty new bottle of laundry detergent though, so I’ll have to wait a little while.

Another funny thing, I stumbled on an article online about not using shampoo or conditioner anymore and using baking soda and apple cider vinegar. I was curious to see how it works so I tried the baking soda part of it this morning and my hair actually feels great! I didn’t use the vinegar because I didn’t really want the smell following me around all day. I might try it for a week or two to see how my hair reacts to it. Here’s a link to the article if you’re interested in it Why You Should Go No ‘Poo I’m not sure if it is actually cheaper than shampoo, but it definitely looks way healthier for your hair and scalp.

I love the idea of ridding my life of chemicals and using all natural products in everything I do. We’ll see how it all works, if I stick to it and how many other things I will find!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 13, 2008 12:40 pm

    Good for you! That is great. You’ll have to fill me in on some of your recipes and what’s worked well and not so well.

    I actually enjoy cleaning as well and find myself putting it off and then once I do it I’m so glad!

Leave a Reply

