Skip to content

why I hate sports

November 12, 2008

This summer I decided to end my softball playing days. Or any sport at all. I’ve never actually enjoyed it… but I never really didn’t like it either. So I kept playing on the CCM softball team. But this year, I got a good enough reason to quit. For good. (It’s been a few months, I am no longer embarrassed by this event.)

So I’ve always been the catcher on the CCM team, ever since I was old enough to play (not counting the first year, that year I was a traitor and played for CLF). So maybe 4 or 5 years? Anyway, I really disliked playing because as the catcher, you usually have to squat. I usually don’t mind squatting, I know that it’s really good for my legs (I really feel it for the next 4 days after each game) and that never really hurts anyone, right? Well I started to not really like squatting anymore because I never catch the ball, and when I don’t catch the ball I have to stand up and get it and then squat back down. This year I started feeling light headed from all of my squats. I know I’m a wimp, but I decided… no more squatting. I’ll just stand back next to the Ump and I’ll be fine, right?

Well, during the first pitch of this game I started thinking about something an ump said at the last game we had to someone complaining about the catcher being too close to the batter. The Ump said “Well she’s a lot safer down there then I am up here.. she’s where she’s supposed to be!”. I started getting nervous about my decision as I threw the first pitch back. Then the next pitch. The lead off batter swung at this one, he really wanted it. He barely hit the ball (foul tip, maybe?) And the ball came flying back to me hitting me square on the nose. What a shock! At first I felt fine, then I realized that I felt fine because my nose was numb! My first reaction to this was to check and make sure it wasn’t broken,so I reached up and wiggled it. “Well, it’s not falling off yet!” I thought. Then the Ump came up to me to see if I was ok, I think I told him that I was fine (silly me) and then he said “Nope! You’re bleeding! She’s bleeding! We need to get her off the field and get a new catcher!” I think that’s pretty much all he said… he might have waited a few seconds to say the last sentence, but he wanted to get moving pretty fast.

So after that I went to sit in the dug out where Brittany quickly appeared to help clean me up. I really think it took the whole game to stop the bleeding…and I didn’t have a bloody nose, it was just the tiny cut. After we finally got it bandaged up Mr. Hargrove came over and said that I needed to put ice on it right away because it was going to swell up. So I did that and as soon as I did it started bleeding all over again. So Brittany had to clean me up again, and we finally got a band aide on it. Anyway, after a long night… this is how I woke up the next morning..

Chase assured me that my nose was not swollen that bad… so I had to take this picture to compare it to another…here is me without a swollen nose a few weeks before…

I think I decided that my nose was pretty swollen. And over the next week or two my eye that is a little black in the first picture got blacker and blacker. And my other eye got black, but only about as black as the first one did in this picture. And I couldn’t really smile or move much on my face during my healing time because it would send zings of numbness through my nose.

Oh, and by the way… Chase was very nice and bought me some Tillamook Pink Bubble Gum ice cream that night. He took very good care of me. :)

And now I think I have decided that I broke my nose… I feel a huge bump on it and one side is bigger than the other and I still have a slight scar that I get to cover with make up everyday. I think the nerves are still damaged or something because it still feels numb a lot. I feel the bridge of my nose daily to decide if it’s broken or not.

And that, my friends, is why I have decided that I hate playing sports. :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rhianna permalink
    November 12, 2008 11:54 am

    Yes, it looked like it was swollen. That was a great story… :)

    But for the record, I was the catcher for CCM, too, until I all of the sudden wasn’t on the team anymore (not my choice!) so then you got the position by yourself! :) I did enjoy it when I did it… Ha ha… oh well, now I’m a mom and I don’t have the time for it…

  2. November 12, 2008 1:07 pm

    Well put. I’m with you on being retired from sports. It’s unfortunate that you have to live with a broken nose. It does make for a great story though.

  3. brittany permalink
    November 12, 2008 9:33 pm

    What would your nose have done without me? :)

  4. November 12, 2008 11:59 pm

    I too had the same thing happen to me. And I do not play softball anymore. Barb Shamber hit a line drive right into my face. She did so well that my eyes got black, and I couldn’t feel my nose or the surrounding area for about 6 months. OUCH! So, I did play outfield for a short time, and then decided to forget it. I will watch, but I’m not into breaking more parts of my body! :) Thanks for the story, I can relate. Your nose looks good now, mine still looks funny! :)

  5. November 18, 2008 12:50 pm

    Well at least your brother didn’t peg you in the head with a softball. Lol :)

Trackbacks

  1. looking back on the year « the simple delights

Leave a Reply

