Skip to content

a day in Oly

November 18, 2008

Yesterday I went with my mom and Tyler to Olympia for Tyler’s therapy. This was my first time going with them since before I got married (which is almost 7 months ago… weird!) so it was a fun time! We usually go a few hours early to get things done or goof around. The last time we went we probably had a million errands to run since we were in wedding planning mode!

Our first stop was at Barnes and Noble! Mom found this adorable book and bought it for me.

It’s a pattern book for tons (or 25) of adorable aprons! I’m so excited! If you didn’t know… I just bought myself a sewing machine and I’m really excited to start sewing! I’ve never sewn anything before, but on Saturday I bought a pattern and fabric for an apron. And then mom got me this! We’re both excited to make things out of it… here are a few pictures of the pictures of aprons in the book..

PS.. I think I got my love of aprons from my mom… in her kitchen she has many cute aprons hanging, it’s really cute! I’m excited to have my own collection!

Here’s a picture of my mess so far… I thought I’d start cutting my pattern out while I’m waitng for my machine to get here.

I had it all laying out nicely at one point… but then my messiness took over. :)

Anyway! Back to yesterday… after B&N we went to Canvas Works down town to look at some of their Amy Butler fabrics. I started to realize how similar my mom’s and my taste are. We both love the girly retro style of things. Funny, funny!

After that we went to Red Robin for lunch.. here are waiting for our food…

While we were there we noticed how runny Tyler’s nose was getting, so mom thought she’d call the therapist and see if she’d rather us not come today. She sad that it would probably be best if we didn’t come, so we didn’t! So we went to Target and then to another fabric store. Tyler was being pretty good for all of the places we dragged him to. He got a book at B&N, too, so he stayed in the car at the stores we were able to keep an eye on him at.

Anyway… that was our day! I had a good time with them! Check Tyler’s blog for other pictures of the day. :)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2008 4:59 pm

    Too Fun! Aren’t aprons the best? They make great gifts too.

    I have an apron collection, and let me tell you, I use them all the time. I wear them around the house like I’m betty crocker. I even have ones for different purposes, like doing dishes and cleaning, when company comes over, or just baking. You are going to have so much fun making them. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  2. Rhianna permalink
    November 18, 2008 5:36 pm

    Very cute! I am so excited to see your finished aprons. I am glad you found something you are enjoying so much! :)

  3. November 18, 2008 11:20 pm

    Rebecca…thank you. I am so blessed by this post. I had a lot of fun and I can’t wait to see how creative you get when you start sewing. Isn’t it funny that Emily said what I told you I used to do!

  4. brittany permalink
    November 18, 2008 11:27 pm

    Can we please have a sewing party?! Aprons remind me of playing dress up. I used to wear my mom’s and put on “fancy shoes” and prance around like I was the queen. Oh to be a kid again… Anyway, I’m excited to have my own space one of these days so I can make a big mess like yours! I hope you have fun sewing and I’m excited to see your new collection!

  5. November 20, 2008 8:45 am

    I love aprons! What fun. I’m so glad you got a sewing machine.

Trackbacks

  1. twirl girl « the simple delights
  2. another apron! « the simple delights

Leave a Reply

