Skip to content

Turkey dinner…mmm…

December 4, 2008
tags: , , ,

Last night Chase and I had a turkey for dinner… it was my first time cooking a Turkey! I don’t think I’ve ever watched my parents make theirs before. I must say I got pretty grossed out during the preparations. :)

I wanted to make a really juicy turkey and after some research I found that doing a brine the night before and cooking it on it’s breast for about an hour of the cook time would be a good way achieve this. It actually turned out pretty good! Here are some pictures…

(Yes… this actually fit in my oven.)

When I bought my turkey the store was really busy and there were a lot of people grabbing their turkeys.. They were on sale for $.29 lb and I figured they were all the same… so I just grabbed one and was on my way! When I got home I realized it was an 18 lb turkey… just for me and Chase. So now we have a LOT of leftovers!

And that’s my first Turkey dinner on my own (plus Chase)! Next time I make one I won’t be afraid to invite someone over to enjoy it with us. :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2008 3:59 pm

    that looks AMAZING! seriously i want to eat that, now! ha. Im still working on how to make top roman right (don’t make fun). That’s so cool your whole fam blogs. Anyways, keep it real…peace!

  2. December 4, 2008 7:54 pm

    I am very impressed! I’ve never made turkey. I’m excited to try but have never ventured that far. It looks like it was terrific.

  3. brittany permalink
    December 4, 2008 9:56 pm

    Great job! It looked like you knew what you were doing. :) I’m looking forward to my own turkey adventure one of these days. Hopefully it turns out as yummy looking as yours!

  4. December 4, 2008 10:07 pm

    it looks great, Rebecca! You might start looking at recipes for leftovers….lol

  5. December 6, 2008 9:17 pm

    That looks fantastic Rebecca! Incredible job! I bet it tasted great! Thanks for sharing!

  6. December 9, 2008 1:15 pm

    Good job Becca, that looks great. I am going to try to get good at cooking. I am not doing great so far…

Leave a Reply

