Skip to content

Christmas Tree Adventures..

December 10, 2008

On Saturday Chase and I went to get our first Christmas tree! After a quick stop at Starbucks and my parents house (to borrow my dad’s saw) we were off!

So many trees to choose from! I’m sure we walked around for about an hour. Most of the trees had whole branches that were brown… we weren’t sure if that meant they were dying or not, but who wants a brown tree? Not me. Chase was pretty patient with me… as soon as I found a tree that had a nice shape and not two tops or something, it would be brown. They all look good from far away! He thought that God was probably laughing at us. Walking around a tree farm being very picky about a tree to put in your living room for less than a month. :) Why did God create us silly people?

Anyway, we finally found a good tree!

Woohoo!

So we heard that if you put boiling water in with the tree that it makes it drink water better, something about opening the pores opening up and the sap softening. So we tried it! Well I don’t think that does anything positive… our tree didn’t drink very much water at all. So last night we had to cut off the bottom again. It was pretty funny, we didn’t want to take it outside or take the lights off of it. So we just stood it up in the living room, I held it up while Chase cut it.And then we put it back in the stand! This morning I finished redecorating it… and here is our tree!

We don’t have any ornaments yet, so we just have 24 candy canes and a few gift tags as ornaments this year. :) I’ll probably buy a bunch when they’re on clearance this year.

Here’s my little friend! My mom gave one to all of us kids 2 years ago, I think. Maybe it was last year… I can’t remember.

He likes sitting on our tree. :)

And here’s part of my snowglobe collection…

My grandma has been buying me a snowglobe every year since 2000, so I should have 7 or 8, but this is all I could find so far. I didn’t keep them all in one place, but these are some of the recent ones. My favorite one is the middle one, the kids make snow angels! It’s really cute. Hopefully I find the rest of them soon!

So that’s what we have decorated so far! I still haven’t finished my stockings yet. I’ve ripped them out a few times, but this time I’m sticking with it! I’m half way done with the first, so it shouldn’t be too long! I’ll post pictures when I finish them!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2008 10:15 am

    I love your tree! I love that Chase would walk all over, but I really wouldn’t have expected anything different. I love that you wanted him to cut a tree like Dad did…and I love that you still have that silly thing I got you. It was 2 years ago before our family changed. :)
    Can’t wait to see it all in person.

  2. December 10, 2008 3:23 pm

    I love your tree! And your tree kitty guy was really cute, very original. lol.

  3. Stephen permalink
    December 11, 2008 9:13 pm

    Yeah, Chase. Those gloves make you look really manly. Are they mittens?

    Your humble brother-in-law,
    Stephen

  4. Rhianna permalink
    December 12, 2008 1:16 pm

    I have our little kitty out too! I named him Mundo because he is from the World Market… Cute idea to put him on the tree!

    Where did you go to get your tree?

  5. December 16, 2008 4:02 pm

    Nice tree. Very nice. Isn’t being married cool? Merry Christmas!

  6. brittany permalink
    December 16, 2008 5:38 pm

    Oh Becca’s tree, Oh Chase’s tree, How lovely are your branches! It’s cold outside and great to know that you’re in there away from snow! Oh Becca’s tree, Oh Chase’s tree, I’m really glad you’re so warm!

    I made that up myself. : )

Leave a Reply

