Skip to content

Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate

January 7, 2009

Lately my favorite drink from Starbucks has been the Signature Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate. I love sweet and salty things and I could probably drink these all day long, so I decided to try to make my own. Here’s what I came up with…

Ingredients:

1 – 1 ½ cups hot milk
1 tbsp cocoa powder
½ tbsp sugar (or 1-2 tablespoons of your favorite hot cocoa mix)
1 tbsp caramel, plus extra for topping
a couple of pinches of sea salt
a pinch of turbinado sugar
whipped cream for topping

Mix hot milk, cocoa powder, sugar, 1 tbsp of caramel and 1 pinch of sea salt together in a coffee cup. Top with whipped cream. Drizzle caramel on top and sprinkle a pinch of sea salt and a pinch of turbinado sugar on top. Enjoy!

I always do something different with my form of chocolate in my hot chocolate. So far my favorite is the cocoa powder/sugar option, but I really love sweet and strong hot chocolate.  I haven’t tried melting any sort of chocolate chips yet, but I’ve heard that’s good, too. If you decide to make this or if you’ve ever made this and have come up with something different, let me know! I’ll probably be making this everyday for a while… :)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2009 9:35 am

    Yum! I can’t wait to try it! I’m going gobuy some caramel today…or maybe I’ll make some.

  2. January 7, 2009 9:52 am

    Mmmm…. sounds good. I will have to try it. I noticed at Starbucks they pump Toffee Nut or something of the sort into the cup before doing the Signature chocolate mix. I thought that was interesting. It made me start thinking about making it at home, and realizing that I had no idea what was making it taste so good. :) I will have to try your recipe. :)

  3. January 7, 2009 3:38 pm

    Yum. So I tried it today. It was so good. I didn’t exactly follow the recipe, I have no idea what turbinado sugar is, but I followed the same basic concept. lol.

  4. Maureen permalink
    January 7, 2009 5:39 pm

    that sounds really good! I have a similar recipe, I’ll add some caramel to it and I’m sure it’ll taste great!

  5. January 8, 2009 11:54 am

    That’s so funny. I tried that at starbucks once and I hated it, but I’m almost sure that they made it wrong, because it tasted it tasted like burnt plastic. But I think I’ll try it again. It sound really good!

Leave a Reply

