Skip to content

5 web based tools that I just love

January 15, 2009

Well, if you didn’t already know… I love the internet. I’m one of those people who would go crazy if it all came tumbling down somehow, and whenever our internet does crash for a while I actually do go crazy. (That’s a secret!)

Anyway I’ve been finding a lot of cool web based gadgets lately and thought I’d share them with you!

5 web based tools that I just love

1. Google. Ok, this one isn’t new to probably anyone reading this, but I find new things everyday that I love about google. I’m not just talking about the search engine, I use Gmail, Google Talk, Google Reader and iGoogle everyday.  I love being able to go to one place (iGoogle) to get pretty much all the information I need.

2. delicious. This one is fairly new to me, but I’ve been meaning to try it for months and now that I have I’m hooked. It’s basically a web based bookmarking tool. I can save all of my bookmarks in one spot and easily share them with my friends. Check it out.

3. Remember the Milk. This is also new to me. (Actually, I signed up yesterday.) This place is a to do list/task management tool. I can make tons of lists, reminders to mop the bathroom floor, call someone or just to go to the grocery store. I’m a list lover, I’m motivated by the box I get to check off, so I really enjoy using this. Another fun thing is I can have my Remember the Milk list in my iGoogle homepage. You can make things repeat everyday, every week, every other week, every month or not have a due date at all. It’s very simple, but I really love using it.

4. Pandora.
I love playing the “radio” online via Pandora.  Simply enter in an artist or a genre of music, and it will play a station of music similar to your request. There are no commercials and it plays the songs that I want to listen to. (It’s also nice when Tyler is wanting to listen to Lincoln Brewster and doesn’t have his ipod… no more messing up my top 25 songs. :)

5. Facebook and Twitter. If everyone I knew had a blog, I probably would never use either of these. But I simply enjoy seeing what my friends are up to, what they’re hobbies and favorite moviws are, who just got engaged and it’s usually how I find when peoples’ birthdays are. Facebook covers all of those things (and more) and Twitter is simply a status updater. The reason I’ve been interest in Twitter lately is that it’s basically a mini blog. Things that you wouldn’t normally write a whole post about, but some people may (or may not) be interested in. Try them out!

So that’s it! I know I already raved aboug google, but I’d just like to point out that I am able to read my daily blogs, check my email, update my twitter status, check my to do list, check the news, listen to my radio station, check the weatherand view my bookmarks all from my iGoogle page. If you haven’t already, you should definitely try it out!

I love finding new things to use, if you like using any gadgets/tools like these, feel free to share them with me! And if you use any of these tools and want to be my friend, check out my About Me section for links to my profile on most of these places.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    January 15, 2009 6:57 pm

    Oh fun, some more neat stuff to check out, thanks for sharing!! I am a list freak too, so the whole Milk thing.. rocks! Also been a huge fan of Settlers for years, we have the extended pack and the Cities of Catan too.. good times!!!

  2. January 20, 2009 2:40 pm

    Ok, I’ve been checking out the Remember the Milk… not sure how it all works yet, but I think it’s cool. Thanks for sharing these things! It is fun that you made it a simple list like this, makes it fun to check out all the sites!

Leave a Reply

