Skip to content

homemade liquid dish soap

February 2, 2009

So this last weekend we finally ran out of our dish washing soap. Do you know what this means? Yes… I got to make my own soap!

I have tried once already, but I poured the soap into a bottle while it was still hot, so it sort of melted the bottle.  I also made it with castile soap shavings with water and it got really lumpy, like egg whites almost. So that was a fail. We bought new dish soap and here we are again!

This time I bought some Dr. Bronner’s Liquid Castile soap from GNC. I mixed it with some water and I think I actually really like it. It seems watery, and it doesn’t sud that much. But it does go a long way, and my dishes were clean even though I didn’t feel like I was using enough soap. I filled my bottle about 2/3 the way full with the castile soap, and then the rest with water.

Both of the recipes I tried are found on this website. I think the reason the first one didn’t turn out was because I didn’t use enough water. But the second option is a lot easier. I still haven’t done the math on how cheap this is compared to the regular store bought kind… but I feel better about “making my own” even if it’s a little more expensive as long as I feel like it works just as well or better. :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. sarah permalink
    February 2, 2009 8:21 pm

    you are so creative! I think i would be easier to just buy it, but i’m sure you had fun making it. :)

  2. February 2, 2009 8:59 pm

    That’s cool that you got there! :) Done with that last bottle I mean ;)

    Love you Mrs. Napier :o) Hope to see you soon…

  3. February 2, 2009 11:40 pm

    We make laundry soap here at home, now that is an adventure, it’s almost like making moonshine, except it’s not illegal. :)

    Have you checked out takehimwithyou.com?

    So far, it’s very fun!

  4. February 4, 2009 9:39 am

    Very cool. Is it easy on your skin or harsh? I would love to make our own if it is better for our skin. Stephen and I both have sensitive skin and get really dry skin from doing dishes. I’ll be asking you more next time I see you!

  5. Bunni permalink
    March 21, 2009 10:37 pm

    Did you know that you can buy some of Dr. Bonner’s soaps at the Safeway store downtown? I use the lavender 3 parts water to one part Bonner’s for bath soap, works for shampoo & conditioner too. It really helps my dry skin.

  6. May 20, 2009 4:07 pm

    Super article. Hope to come back.

Leave a Reply

