Skip to content

More on cleaning products

June 24, 2009

Remember the liquid dish soap I made a while ago? Well I wasn’t too happy with it after a month or so… it was really watery and hard to not use too much when doing dishes. I really liked that it was easy on my skin .. but eventually I put it away and bought a new bottle of soap. Yes… I was that unhappy.

After doing a bit of reading on other cleaning products a few weeks ago I found a “frugal tip” on Passionate Homemaking to put your dishsoap in a spray bottle to conserve soap.

What a great idea! I did about the same amounts of soap to water as I did before and I added a few drops of lemon oil. I’m pretty happy with the result but I don’t think I need as much soap… next time I may do about 1/4 soap and 3/4 water.

It’s great; I use about 2 sprays on my brush or dish and it lasts for 3-4 dishes everytime. Way better than using about 1/4 teaspoon per dish before. I also use it as a countertop spray… a little goes a long way!

Since the move I have not been able to keep my bathtub clean for the life of me. I don’t know if it’s me or the type of bathtub or what, but everytime I cleaned it the next day it would be just as dirty as it was the day before. I never felt like I got it really clean. I  usually just used Bon Ami at the apartment, but for some reason it just doesn’t quite work here.

So after a little research I found this recipe for a cleaner. I had used baking soda and Dr. Bronners soap before, but never at the same time. This cleaner is amazing! I used probably about 2 tablespoons for the whole bathtub the first time and it worked great. It spread easily and made a nice thick pastey like cleaner… I spread it out with a wet brush and let it sit for about 5 minutes and wiped it clean. I’m very happy with the results!

And yes… I still love my laundry detergent! It still works great, I use about 1-2 tablespoons of soap per load (depending on the size and grossness of the load) along with about 1/4 cup of white vinegar and my clothes come out soft, clean and smelling fresh!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sherriknits permalink
    June 24, 2009 3:12 pm

    i need to try that bathtub cleaner!

  2. Brittany permalink
    June 24, 2009 9:15 pm

    i like the idea of putting the dish soap in a spray bottle. i may have to borrow this idea. i’d love to make my own but i just don’t have time. doing this will justify spending the extra on the good stuff. : ) thanks for the tip!

  3. Sasha Dawson permalink
    June 25, 2009 1:43 pm

    I love using a Magic Eraser to clean the tub, it works like a charm every time and there are no harsh chemicals!AND the generic brand works just as well.

  4. bEKAH permalink
    June 26, 2009 8:01 am

    Thank you for all the tips! Eventually I will try making my own stuff!

  5. bEKAH permalink
    July 15, 2009 11:02 am

    The dishwashing soap sprayer works so well! Tried it last night! =)

Leave a Reply

