Skip to content

growing up

September 26, 2009

books

I started college this week! It’s been fun I’m taking all of my classes online and I’m actually really enjoying them.

I feel like this is a God thing. I filled out my FAFSA and applied for a few colleges and waited to hear back. I wasn’t really expecting to get any financial aid but figured “what could it hurt?” Then I only heard back from one college saying that they’d pay for 12 credits worth of school. Taking 3 classes worked out to be 15 credits so I’m really not having to pay that much extra. So I was really excited about that.

Then when I was reading through everyone’s introductions for my English class and saw someone saying that they were in their second quarter at Peninsula (the same college I’m going to) and they were going for their Mutlimedia Communications degree. I read it and read it again. Could this be true? A Multimedia Communications degree? At the college I’m already going to? It must not be available to complete online.

So I go back to Peninsula’s website looking all over for it and couldn’t find it anywhere. So then I googled it. And sure enough, there it is! Available at Peninsula College a Multimedia Communications degree to complete all online!

Maybe I should rewind a little bit and tell you that I’ve been wanting to become a web designer since high school. (Yeah, 3 whole years ago) I’ve never lost that interest and I’ve always thought that it would be a great job for me to have and be able to work from home.

Knowing that I’ve had this interest for so long I was looking everywhere for a two year degree in this field. The only place I could find this was at the Art Institute and I didn’t really think that I’d get enough financial aid there so I didn’t even bother paying the $150 application fee.

So this whole thing at this college came as a shock. What are the chances that the one college that would give me financial aid would also have a program that I have always dreamed of doing? I defnitely think it was a God thing.

This quarter I’m taking English 101, Economics 101 and Media 201. I’m really enjoying my Media class; it’s all about digital image editing and I’m learning a lot about photoship. I’ve been using Photoshop for a couple years but I’ve never actually learned how to use it. I’m so excited for this opportunity and can’t wait to see how I do!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Noble G. permalink
    September 26, 2009 5:56 pm

    That is so awesome, Rebecca! :-) I would really like to be able to take some classes again after Noel is through his school. You’ll have to show off your assignments so we can all ooh and aah over them. ;-)

    • September 27, 2009 3:15 pm

      Yeah, Noble, that’s how it was for us, too. I didn’t want to start until Chase was done, and I also didn’t want to add to our debt since I don’t intend on “working” it off.

      I’ll post my link to my “portfolio” soon!

  2. September 26, 2009 7:38 pm

    I’m so happy for you Becca! That’s really awesome that it all worked out for you to get the degree you’ve always wanted all online. :) i never knew that you wanted to be a web designer.

    • September 27, 2009 3:16 pm

      Thanks, Sarah! Yeah I’ve had the interest for a while, but the classes for it are so expensive these days! I’ve tried just teaching myself everything but sometimes it’s nice to have some sort of direction. : )

Leave a Reply

