Skip to content

goodbye summer, hello fall

October 2, 2009

I finally said goodbye to summer this week. Summer is my favorite season and I really hate to see it go. Mostly because I hate being cold and I think that everything looks better in the sunshine. And it’s very rare to see much sunshine once fall has started. We had a beautiful sunset the other night and I took some pictures of it.

Summer Sunset

Summer Sunset

I love the idea of sitting at home, grabbing a blanket, and reading a great book. Or baking a delicious dessert and drinking a yummy coffee with it to keep me warm. But all the other things that come with fall don’t really seem that exciting to me.

I really don’t like rain. Mostly because I’m short and I don’t own a single pair of pants that aren’t too long. I’ve tried hemming them myself and I always hate them because I’ve always grown up with pants that are too long so that’s just the way I like it. Having too long pants isn’t that bad for like 4 months of the year. The rest of the eight months I spend holding my pants up while I’m running through parking lots trying to get out of the pouring down rain. Then when I get home I can’t stand wearing my wet pants so I take them off and put on a new pair. Then I realize that I forgot something at the grocery store and have to go back outside. Now I have two pairs of wet pants and freezing feet. This is what fall feels like to me. Wet.

Well this year when fall started coming around I was actually started to feel excited. I was waking up to mornings like these:

Fall Morning

I love the sunshine, and I don’t mind the cold if it’s kind of sunny out and I have a cute coat on. But most mornings that start like that I end up looking out windows that look like this:

Rainy Windows

Wet. Wet. Wet. But I’ve decided to accept it and enjoy it. So this morning I woke up early and whipped up some pumpkin chocolate chip muffins and made a couple latte’s. That was the first time I acknowledged Fall. (That and the fact that we had to pull out our little space heater earlier this week.)

a well balanced breakfast

Goodbye Summer, Hello Fall!

Photobucket

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 10:21 am

    Those pictures are gorgeous! I love sunrise/set pictures….took one thus morning, actually…

  2. October 2, 2009 11:01 am

    Those skies are so beautiful!

  3. kabe permalink
    October 2, 2009 11:46 am

    I know what you meen about pants being too long :/ I’m short too… But I have decovered the wanderfulness of boots! Tuck the pants in! They don’t get wet, and their pretty cute! Summer is my favorite season too. So sad… oh well! I’m about ready for Christmas, sking, and other fun stuff : )

  4. October 2, 2009 1:34 pm

    wow those first to are awesome. Spectacular photos.

  5. Jenn permalink
    October 9, 2009 4:03 pm

    Stunning!

Leave a Reply

