Skip to content

eh

December 16, 2009

chiffon cake

I’ve been in the mood to do some baking. So I went to Cook’s Illustrated and flipped through the baking guide and decided to make a Chocolate Marble Chiffon Cake. Now, to be completely honest with you, I don’t know if I have ever seen, tasted, or even heard of a chiffon cake before. But it appeared to need a round bundt type pan, and I had just bought one of those a few months ago. Works for me!

So I started making this cake at like 9:00 o’clock this morning. I put it in the oven at like 10:05am. Don’t ask me why it would ever take me over an hour to make a silly cake. (It actually had something to do with my egg whites not thickening right… this has been a recurring problem of mine lately) I noticed that if I wanted to get to work on time then I would have to leave my house at 10:42. This cake needed to bake for about 55-65 minutes. I actually did want to get to work on time. So really. What was I thinking? I have no idea.

Well 10:50 rolled around and I decided to check the cake. It was about as done as overcooked brownies… which wasn’t quite done enough for me (or for the recipe that I was following. I think). I made the decision to leave the cake in the oven, turn it (the oven) off, and leave it (the oven) cracked open, and leave for work.

I came home to find my cake perfectly done. This is a huge shock to me since usually I burn everything. (Really, I don’t know if I’ve ever not burnt anything.)

Do chiffon cakes usually have a glaze? becuase there was a link to one on the sidebar of my recipe. So I decided to make a glaze. Except it called for 2 cups of powdered sugar. And I only have 2/3 cups of that. So I added 1/3 of cocoa powder and cut the batch in half. It made a yummy frosting like substance, so I decided that it would work for my cake.

I have no idea if this is a normal chiffon cake or not, but I’m excited to try it. (Actually I know that it’s for sure not a normal chiffon cake, because it’s a chocolate marble chiffon cake.) I took a picture of it to show you (whoever you are), but I pretty much did the worst job of glazing (or icing?) this cake possible. So I had to take a creative angle.

Also the lighting in my kitchen isn’t that great, so my picture is grainy (which is also caused by my not-very-expensive camera). Also, I only have one outlet in my kitchen. One outlet. “How do you live?” You ask? I really don’t know. Sometimes it’s stressful. Sometimes it’s funny. Sometime it’s just plain annoying. But this time it’s just irrelevant. I just had to fit that in.

Okay, I guess this is a pointless post. Sometimes I just feel like I have to talk a certain amount each day. Chase has said that I “just sounded like Kelly Kapoor” on more than one occassion. He means it in a negative way, but I secretly am proud of myself for it.

Okay, I think I’m done now.

That’s all.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Gardner permalink
    December 17, 2009 7:39 am

    I love your posts. You always keep me intrigued, I like your cute details, they are you and its fun! Your cake looks wonderful. I have wanted to make a marbled bundt cake lately and now I have a recipe to try.. yeah! Hope you get some new outlets soon that would make life in the kitchen so much nicer!

  2. December 17, 2009 8:55 am

    I’ve actually never made a chiffon cake either. I have a pretty bundt pan that I’d love to use more often though. How was it?

    I too, love reading your posts. You have a captivating writing style.

    And yes. You need another outlet in the kitchen. Stephen may be able to help there if you guys want. He’s added all sorts of outlets and things to our house.

  3. Brittany permalink
    December 17, 2009 10:20 am

    as you know, we only have one outlet also! all i can say is that it has been very interesting! you’re cake looked yummy!

  4. December 19, 2009 10:44 pm

    thanks for the smile.

  5. February 20, 2010 6:05 pm

    Hey! Where are you? I miss reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

