Skip to content

dutch baby

April 13, 2009

Have you ever heard of dutch babies? They have always, always, always been my very favorite breakfast food. I would have them every year for my birthday breakfast, and I think this last year is the first time I ever didn’t have them for breakfast on my birthday.

I guess sometimes they are called german pancakes or puffy pancakes, but I’ve grown up calling them dutch babies. So everytime I see them referred to as actual dutch babies I get really excited. I’ve been enjoying recipes from Joy the Baker lately, and this last week she posted a recipe for Dutch Baby with Orange Sugar. I just had to try it. It looks like she uses the same recipe as me, but i usually sprinkle the cinnamon on top instead of mixing it in.

I decided to add some actual orange juice to the sugar mixture, so mine doesn’t look as pretty, but it sure tasted great!

Oh and I don’t usually remember read the recipe while making these, so sometimes I use 1 cup of milk and flour instead of 2/3 cup. So these are a bit puffier than normal. :)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 8:41 pm

    Sounds good. Maybe I’ll try it sometime! :)

  2. Maureen permalink
    April 13, 2009 10:27 pm

    I Love Dutch Babies! Yum!

  3. April 13, 2009 11:45 pm

    oh gosh, i need to make one soon now!

  4. April 20, 2009 7:36 pm

    I can’t wait to try this variation. I make dutch babies (or puffy pancakes as I usually call them) at least once a week and it would be great to do them a little different than the traditional maple syrup topping.

Leave a comment